Indian hockey team successfully defended their Sultan of Johor Cup title

Johor Bahru:  Indian hockey team retained the Sultan of Johor Cup when they defeated Great Britain 2-1 in the final at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium.

A goal 45 seconds from time gave  Indian hockey team the title in a final where Great Britain were the overwhelming favourites.

Great Britain came into the final unbeaten in the preliminary round with a psychological advantage having beaten Indian hockey team 2-0 in their clash.

As for India, they were the defending champions and wanted to be the first team to win the title since the inception of SOJC in 2011.

Malaysia had won the inaugural title with Germany winning in 2012 and India last year.

Indian hockey team took the lead in the 45th minute through a penalty corner goal by Hermanpreet Singh, his seventh goal of the tournament.

Varun Kumar’s attempt from a penalty corner in the 53rd flew inches wide and Great Britain gained most from that respite.

For Samuel French converted a penalty corner in the 55th minute and the two teams were level at 1-1.

Controversy erupted in the 62nd minute when Indian custodian Abhnav Pandey was green carded and an outfield player was taken off to bring on substitute keeper Subodh Tirkey was brought on.

And with 45 seconds left on the clock, India were awarded a penalty corner and up stepped Hermanpreet to duly convert and help India regain the title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.